Book Review – Infinity + One by Amy Harmon (or how Infinity becomes a cool name to have)

20901080

Infinity + One is the first book by Amy Harmon that I’ve read, and I lo-o-oved it to bits! Even though I’m not American, the story of Bonnie and Clyde has always fascinated me and I felt sorry for them when I first found out about how they died. Sometimes love can’t conquer all. Fortunately, however, Bonnie Rae Shelby and Infinity James Clyde are nothing like the 30s couple, and I enjoyed myself to laughter and tears while reading their story!

“We’re Bonnie and Clyde! Wanted and unwanted. Caged and cornered. We’re lost and we’re alone. We’re a big, tangled mess. We’re a shot in the dark. We’re two people who have nowhere else, no one else, and yet, suddenly that feels like enough for me! I’m sorry if it’s not enough for you.”

The book is basically a road trip, without the innocent fun involved. One foggy night, Finn Clyde passes by the Mystic River bridge and he sees what he thinks is a young boy, preparing to jump into the abyss. He is conflicted, but he stops his car and tries to talk the boy out of it (but, of course, that boy is actually Bonnie Shelby, an international superstar). This is how their wonderful story begins, the story of Bonnie Rae and Finn Clyde. Bonnie tags along in what Finn tells her is a road trip across America, to Las Vegas, where he’s supposed to get a job, and they end up in trouble more times than I could count. Bonnie and Finn become “wanted” by the police; Bonnie is desperate to escape the clutches of her greedy grandmother, while Finn has a past that makes him terrified of going to jail. What that past is, you’ll only find out by reading this book! 😀

“I kissed you because it was beautiful and you make me feel…” he bit out, his voice a harsh whisper. „You make me feel…crazy things. Desperate things. Impossible things. You make me feel. And feeling that much is irresistible sometimes. You are irresistible sometimes.” 

A word or two on the characters

Although Bonnie frustrated me sometimes because of her more-than-often reckless behaviour, I still liked her more than Finn. I mean, I liked Finn as well, but he wasn’t as interesting a person as Bonnie was. I don’t know, maybe because she was so broken-spirited that I felt for her, and I somehow managed to understand her.

Finn was alright and I really liked how the author chose to turn him into a man that can express his feelings, rather than supress them. He starts off as cold, indifferent, tough, but Bonnie warms him up and shows him that there is more to life, that there is love in life, and light, and laughter. I really, really liked that!

I won’t tell you how it all ends, but I guess I can give you a hint: the last 30 pages or so, you will be holding your breaths so much, that your lungs will hurt! It’s pretty intense. Oh, and I also enjoyed the brief father-son moment toward the end, when Finn and his dad talk about… stuff. Mostly fear of loving and being loved back. It’s a wonderful pep talk. I wish every dad would open up like that to his son(s).

Also, this novel has so many things in it that are generally known as clichés, that I lost count! HOWEVER (note the caps, please!), Amy Harmon turned them all into something so beautiful, that fits so perfectly into the big picture, that I forgot I was supposed to dislike clichés. :-)) The biggest of them all is the fact that Finn had a brother, Fish, and Bonnie had a sister, Minnie. But I won’t tell you what that means, because I’ll ruin it for you. You’re gonna have to find that out for yourselves! 😀

The Plus

The mathematical concepts Finn utters throughout the book. I believe it’s an incentive for young people to look at maths differently and to maybe start enjoying it. Math IS interesting, I’m just sorry I never had the brains for it in school. I got the love for letters and literature instead, so that’s pretty cool as well!

“I believe in numbers. The ones you can see and the ones you can’t. The real and the imaginary, the rational and the irrational, and every point on lines that go on forever. Numbers have never let me down. They don’t waffle. They don’t lie. They don’t pretend to be what they’re not. They’re timeless.”

The Minus

The reason why I gave it a 4.5 star-rating on Goodreads is mainly because I felt like something was missing. I think the climax of the novel wasn’t so much a climax but rather a logical inference. I mean, yeah, the last 30 pages or so were intense and I almost (almost!) had the feeling it wasn’t going to end how I had envisaged it, but after all, it was pretty predictable. I wish I had a little bit more action, more drama, if you know what I mean. But that’s just silly old me! :-)) Also, I wish Bonnie’s Gran played a bigger part in her road to freedom and independence. I really expected a confrontation between the two of them, but I was seriously disappointed. The author just brushed over this aspect. Fortunately for her, the story of Bonnie and Finn had my full attention all throughout the book, so only now have I realized this thing about her Gran. Way to go, Miss Harmon! 😀

“I don’t want to be without you, Bonnie! Don’t you get that? I am in love with you! I’ve known you for one week. And I’m in love with you! Crazy, drive-off-a-cliff-if-you-asked-me-to, in love with you. But I don’t want to drive off a cliff! I want to live with you! Do you want that? Or do you still think about jumping off bridges and going down in a hail of bullets?” 


Where you can find this wonderful novel:

BOOK DEPOSITORY

AMAZON

KOBO

infinity-fingers-wedding-photography-pinterest

Un gând despre “Book Review – Infinity + One by Amy Harmon (or how Infinity becomes a cool name to have)

  1. Pingback: Book Reviews (English only or RO and EN) « Books, Movies, Tea and Unicorns

Lasă un comentariu

